

Environment and Community Engagement Scrutiny Commission

Thursday 12 January 2023
7.00 pm
Ground Floor Meeting Room G02C - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Membership

Councillor Margy Newens (Chair) Councillor Graham Neale (Vice-Chair) Councillor Ketzia Harper

Councillor Emily Hickson Councillor Sarah King Councillor Reginald Popoola

Councillor David Watson

Reserves

Councillor John Batteson Councillor Rachel Bentley Councillor Gavin Edwards Councillor Natasha Ennin Councillor Renata Hamvas Councillor Adam Hood Councillor Kimberly McIntosh

INFORMATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC

Access to informationYou have the right to request to inspect copies of minutes and reports on this agenda as well as the background documents used in the preparation of these reports.

Babysitting/Carers allowancesIf you are a resident of the borough and have paid someone to look after your children, an elderly dependant or a dependant with disabilities so that you could attend this meeting, you may claim an allowance from the council. Please collect a claim form at the meeting.

AccessThe council is committed to making its meetings accessible. Further details on building access, translation, provision of signers etc for this meeting are on the council's web site: www.southwark.gov.uk or please contact the person below.

Contact Julie Timbrell on 020 7525 0514 or email: julie.timbrell@southwark.gov.uk

Members of the committee are summoned to attend this meeting **Althea Loderick** Chief Executive

Date: 4 January 2023





Environment and Community Engagement Scrutiny Commission

Thursday 12 January 2023
7.00 pm
Ground Floor Meeting Room G02C - 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

Order of Business

Item No. Title Page No.

PART A - OPEN BUSINESS

1. APOLOGIES

To receive any apologies for absence.

2. NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE CHAIR DEEMS URGENT

In special circumstances, an item of business may be added to an agenda within five clear working days of the meeting.

3. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

Members to declare any interests and dispensations in respect of any item of business to be considered at this meeting.

4. MINUTES

To approve as a correct record the Minutes of the meeting held on 11 October 2022, to follow.

5. CONFIRMATION OF COOPTEES

The following cooptess are proposed to join the commission:

- 1. Lydia Marsden, Senior Research Officer within ShareAction's banking standards team.
- 2. Shalaka Laxman is an entrepreneur and sustainable finance professional with eight years of diverse experience within financial services including at Deutsche Bank developing sustainable financial products for large companies. Currently freelancing for the Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership.

In addition Clinton van der Spuy has volunteered to contribute to the Climate Finance review, although he is unable to take up a cooptee role as he is based in New York. Clinton is a banker working at the intersection of capital markets, risk management and climate risk with a focus on addressing the risks and opportunities in the sustainable finance and climate risk space.

6. PENSION FUND DIVESTMENT PROGRESS

Officers will provide a report (to follow) and presentation Pension Fund divestment progress and strategy in light 2016 decision to divest and more recent commitment to 'Make the council's pension fund zero carbon by 2030'.

7. CARBON TRACKER

8. ABUNDANCE

Karl Harder, co-founder of Abundance , will present on Community Municipal Bonds / Local Climate Bonds and more broadly on Climate Emergency transition

9. GREEN FINANCE INSTITUTE

Matt Ferretti and Ryan Jude will present.

10. 3CI

11. WORK PROGRAMME

EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

The following motion should be moved, seconded and approved if the sub-committee wishes to exclude the press and public to deal with reports revealing exempt information:

"That the public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1-7, Access to Information Procedure rules of the Constitution."

Environment and Community Engagement Scrutiny Commission

MUNICIPAL YEAR 2022-23

AGENDA DISTRIBUTION LIST (OPEN)

NOTE: Original held by Scrutiny Team; all amendments/queries to Julie Timbrell Tel: 020 7525 0514

Name No of copies	Name	No of copies
	Julie Timbrell, Scrutiny Team SPARES	10
	External	
Electronic Copy		
Members		
Councillors:		
Councillor Margy Newens (Chair) Councillor Graham Neale (Vice-Chair) Councillor Ketzia Harper Councillor Emily Hickson Councillor Reggie Popoola Councillor Sarah King Councillor David Watson Coopted member:		
Reserves Members		
Councillor John Batteson Councillor Rachel Bentley Councillor Kimberly McIntosh Councillor Natasha Ennin Councillor Gavin Edwards Councillor Renata Hamvas Councillor Adam Hood	Total: 10 Dated: May 2021	